Four new Deputy Commissioners appointed

Wednesday, 6 December 2023 at 12:57 am

Fire Rescue Victoria (FRV) is pleased to announce the appointment of four new Deputy Commissioners. The individuals were appointed by the Minister for Emergency Services, following a competitive selection process across Australia.

The appointments include: 

Deputy Commissioner, Central, South and East Operations - Costa Katsikis, effective from 1 January 2024. 

Acting Deputy Commissioner Costa Katsikis will step into the role of Deputy Commissioner, Central, South and East Operations. Costa has acted in several Deputy Commissioner portfolios at FRV and ably led the Community Safety Directorate in recent months. 

Deputy Commissioner, Strategy - Edward (Eddie) Lacko, effective from 1 January 2024.

Assistant Chief Fire Officer Eddie Lacko will step into the role of Deputy Commissioner, Strategy. Eddie brings significant experience across fire services from both Victoria (FRV, CFA) and Queensland. 

Deputy Commissioner, Community Safety - Joshua Fischer, effective from 15 January 2024.

As Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Strategy and Capability with the Northern Territory Fire & Rescue Service, Joshua has most recently led the commands of fire safety, special operations and training and development. 

Deputy Commissioner, Office of the Fire Rescue Commissioner - Michael Morgan AFSM, effective from 1 January 2024.

As Chief Officer and Chief Executive Officer with the South Australia Metropolitan Fire Service since 2018, Michael has extensive executive experience within the emergency management sector. 

Fire Rescue Commissioner Gavin Freeman AFSM said the appointees brought a diverse range of leadership experience from both within FRV and other fire and rescue services. 

“The appointees bring valuable skillsets that complement each other and the rest of our Executive Leadership Team,” Commissioner Freeman said.

“Together, we will be a team dedicated to delivering strategic outcomes for FRV, creating a culture that supports all our people, and delivering the very best for our community. On behalf of FRV, I extend my congratulations to the new Deputy Commissioners.”